Van Winkle Award

The Van Winkle Achievement Award honors a distinguished person or professional who has extraordinary accomplishments including outstanding service to Centenary College and the community at large, and who brings honor to our institution. Alumni and all others closely associated with Centenary College are eligible for nomination.

Van Winkle Achievement Award past honorees (through 2014):

· Louise Armstrong ’48

· Ellen Baars-Banks ’93

· Claire Couch Bosee ’54

· Fred J. Brotherton ’89 HA

· Ruth Vail Pierson Churchill ’13

· Margot Nelson Carey ’55

· Barbara Clarihew ’61

· Karen DeWitt Conner ’54

· Bernice Spies Davis ’31

· Karen Nelson Drake ’53

· Eleanor Lee Drinane ’59

· Lucinda Thomas Embersits ’59

· Erica Hontz Hoffman ’83

· Patricia Terhune Hoffman ’47

· Virginia George Hook ’44

· Joan Garey Hooper ’50

· Karen Phillips Irons ’63

· Edith Bolte Kutz ’42

· Carol Burgess Lackland ’54

· Grace Lewis ’43

· Shirley Wilson McCune ’50

· Linda Dey McDonald ’62

· Arden Davis Melick ’60/01 HA

· Althea Mundorff Murchison ’19

· Elissa Robison Prout ’54

· C. Joy Riddell ’58

· Roberta Fleming Roesch ’39

· Dominick V. Romano ’01 HA

· Ruth Scarborough ’96 HA

· John A. Shayner ’89 HA

· Meredith Post Van Pelt ’32

· Diane Decker Sillcocks ’54

· Nancy Briwa Veeder ’46

· Audrey Hines Bonaparte Watts ’78

· Chris Linne ’02/04


The Gold Dome Award

Each year at the annual Centenary College Scholarship Gala, honorees are chosen to receive the Gold Dome Award. The Award was first presented in 1999 to recognize the contributions of individuals and organizations who, through extraordinary vision and dedication, advance the mission of Centenary College and exemplify the values we hold dear.

President Dr. Barbara-Jayne Lewthwaite with this year's Gold Dome Award Recipients.

2014 honorees:

Carol Harvey Barrows '61 and Bill Barrows

Carol Harvey Barrows ‘61 and her husband, Bill Barrows, have been staunch supporters of Centenary College, and founded an annual internship program that has already enabled three outstanding students to work and study at Florida’s renowned Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute.  When the Barrowses attended Mrs. Barrows’ 50th Class Reunion, they had the opportunity to view the laboratory facilities that she spent so much time in as a nutrition student at Centenary.  As a result of that visit, they were inspired to establish the James Pomponi Memorial Science Internship.  That internship is named for the father of their good friend, Dr. Shirley Pomponi, the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Harbor Branch.

The Barrows family’s philanthropy has also helped Centenary renovate and modernize its science laboratories in both Trevorrow Hall and the Environmental Science Center at the Charles O. Hayford State Fish Hatchery.  In addition, they have funded the salad bar in the David and Carol Lackland Center, which benefits Centenary students.

Carol A. Fitzpatrick

Carol A. Fitzpatrick has been employed by United Parcel Service for almost 25 years in the Human Resources Department of the North Atlantic District.  She was responsible
for coordinating all of the recruiting activities for nine buildings in the district.  She presently does the hiring for Parsippany’s day shift.  She was also instrumental in getting a contract signed with UPS for a Centenary College tuition discount for employees, which is an agreement that is unique to the corporation.  She has attended Centenary College’s Career Fairs every year during her tenure.  She has served on the advisory board for Centenary’s School of Professional Studies.  Fitzpatrick participates in
career fairs at various community soup kitchens and visits Homeless Solutions in East Hanover where she speaks to homeless people looking for employment.  For over three decades, United Parcel Service has supported work study opportunities for Centenary College students, as well as scholarship funds.

Raymond and Katherine Nisivoccia

Raymond Nisivoccia, CPA, RMA, PSA, is the founding partner of Nisivoccia LLP, a regional accounting and business advisory firm in Mount Arlington and Newton.  For over 40 years, Nisivoccia has overseen the firm’s growth, from inception to 17 partners and more than 80 employees.  He specializes in the areas of tax, governmental accounting, financial planning and management advisory services while the firm today continues to service clients in various business industries such as not-for-profit, real estate developers and managers, construction contractors and medical and dental facility and practice management.  Nisivoccia LLP is listed by NJBiz in its annual List of Top Accounting Firms in the State. 

Nisivoccia’s dedication to helping our communities is present in the time and effort he devotes to his civic positions and to a wide array of charitable and private organizations.  His civic positions include Commissioner, Chairman of Finance and Budget Committee for the New Jersey Hall of Fame Committee, the Board of Directors,
Audit Committee of the Hackettstown Regional Medical Center, the Executive Committee of the 200 Club of Morris County, Board of Trustees, Audit Committee of Centenary College, Investment Committee of St. Francis Residential Community, Treasurer for the Community Soup Kitchen of Morristown, Chairman of the Boy Scouts of America Lifetime Achievement Recognition Award Committee and Chairman of the Morris County Public Safety Training Academy Board.

Katherine Nisivoccia and Raymond have been honored at the Hackettstown Regional Medical Center’s Cotillion for their involvement with the community.  They are members of the 200 Club of Morris County, an organization that supports Morris County police offers, fire fighters, first aid squad members and members of the New Jersey
State Police who die in the line of duty.  Both have been supporters of Enchanted Makeovers, an organization that transforms homeless shelters and an organization that fellow Trustee Ellen Banks represents. The Nisivoccias have also been recognized with an Italian American Heritage Award.

Katherine has served on the Boards of the Dover General Hospital Auxiliary and the Randolph Women’s Club.  She has also volunteered through the years with various Parent Teacher Associations.

To download a list of past recipients, click here.

Distinguished Alumni

Established in 1992, during Centenary College’s 125th anniversary, 125 alumni were honored; 10 additional alumni were added to the list in 2002, in conjunction with the inauguration of Centenary College President Dr. Kenneth L. Hoyt.  Five new awards were conferred at the Distinguished Alumni Brunch on Sunday, October 14, 2012, as part of the Homecoming & Alumni Weekend festivities. The purpose of this award is to recognize the personal or professional achievements of Centenary Alumni, and their service to the College or the community-at-large. The criteria used to select the recipients along with a nomination form are downloadable. Nominations will be reviewed by the selection committee, which is comprised of a representative of the Alumni Association Executive Board, the President of the College, a member of the President’s Circle and the Director of Alumni Relations.  

To download a list of the 147 Distinguished Alumni, click here.

© Copyright 2008-2016 Centenary College. Centenary College is a registered trademark. All rights reserved.